Our Armagnac
Domaine du Cardinat | Armagnac regions

Armagnac regions

Armagnac is a controlled appellation area. Its production is divided into three regions: Bas-Armagnac, the Ténarèze and Haut-Armagnac. Each region produces different Armagnacs. Bas-Armagnac is the most famous production area because of its clay-siliceous and its tawny sand soil. The soils of the Ténarèze also contain rocks but have clay and limestone rather than sand. Haut-Armagnac is a more limestone-based soil and as a result has fewer production areas.